Longyearbyen CO2 Project.
The aim of the Longyearbyen CO2 Lab is to take advantage of the community’s closed energy system, powered by Norway’s only coal fuelled power plant. This small Arctic community could demonstrate the full CCS value chain, becoming a global show case; a community that takes care of its CO2 from the source to the solution.
Svalbard a place of possibilities ...

A site for environmental research and development


Since 2007 CO2 and Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) research have been carried out by the University Centre, Svalbard (UNIS), Norway. In December 2011 the UNIS board initiated the decision to establish a research company UNIS CO2 lab AS. to conduct a pilot project into CO2 storage on Svalbard. The results of which can be found at this website.

The Phase 2 report is now available online.  To read the report (flash). To download the report (pdf).


©UNIS - post@unis.no
............ ....Tel: +47 79 02 33 00
Project manager:
Principal Investigator:

Kim Senger

HSE leader:

Fred Skancke Hansen